Life is short. Bite hard.

As many of you already know, I’m working hard to raise funds to make a documentary film about my dog. Every dog owner thinks their dog is a super star and every dog owner is right. But some dogs have a story that somehow rises above the story of love and magic that all rescues are. Mica is one of those dogs and has one of those stories. After being chained in a backyard for 11 years, she was dumped at a shelter when her family moved. Rescue stepped in and I fostered her. We were working on teaching her how to be a pet, and she was teaching us how to love her when her cancer was discovered. Stage 3 mast cell sarcoma was a death sentence and the vet didn’t mince words: “Just take her home and make her happy.” Hiking made her happiest so off we went, and 39 climbs later, Mica completed hiking the Catskill 35, at age 12, with terminal cancer.

We’ve already completed two film shoots, and have great footage of Mica at home doing normal home things, like eating dinner, drinking her chaga tea, and strolling by the pond. We have interview footage and “B roll” footage (I don’t really know what that is but the film maker says we have it so I believe her).

Can you hear me now??? photo by Beth Adams of Candid Canine Photography.

Can you hear me now??? photo by Beth Adams of Candid Canine Photography.

 

We have raised over $2500 to date. We have enough cash in hand to finish shooting. That, my friends, is a small miracle in and of itself. My hubby and I are thrilled. Mica is taking it all in stride. We need another $2400 to finish the film – to edit and do all the production stuff about which I know nothing. Yes, that’s right – we need about another $2400. Our initial goal was $5000.

There is a sense of urgency now, as Mica has developed a second cancer in addition to the mast cell sarcoma. She has adenocarcinoma of the lung. She beat the mast cell cancer but it looks like this one is going to take her from us. Her cough breaks my heart, but so far she is still eating well, playing with enthusiasm, and hiking everyday. In between meals and hikes, though, I can see how profoundly she needs rest and how wiped out she is. Cancer is a hungry beast.

just chilling...

just chilling…

 

I have posted about this fund raising effort on Facebook, but not everyone is on Facebook, so here’s the info:

To make a donation, click here.

To purchase a t-shirt, click here.

For more information about the Mica Movie effort, click here.

The Mica Movie ladies T. More available at my Etsy store.

The Mica Movie ladies T. More available at my Etsy store.

 

 

This entry was posted in The Mica Movie. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

