Gluten Free Strawberry Cheesecake Bites

It’s been quite a week, which is saying something since it is only 3:15 p.m. on a Monday. So far my day has included 5 abandoned sick puppies, disgruntled lobbyists, 2 fourteen year old dogs in need of rehoming, woodstove burns, rabbit urine, a massive snowstorm that is threatening to switch over to ice… and I am PMSing.

 

The gang

The gang

I gave the dogs a nice treat to keep them out of my hair and I’m thinking about nice treats for myself. I stumbled upon an incredible combination and I’m about to share it with you. Local organic healthy joyous food, ok?

 

Gluten free strawberry cheesecake bites:

Ok, so “gluten free” is kind of a bait and switchy thing here because strawberries and cheese have no gluten anyway. And I didn’t make any kind of cake or crust or anything, so of course they are gluten free. Duh.

What these cheesecake bites are is delicious. Hollowed out strawberries hold the creamy excellence and you pop the whole thing in your mouth for maximum swoon. Without further ado —

 

Make the goat cheese filling:

8 ounces of plain chevre (LOCAL, please. No matter where you are you can find local goat cheese. Support your local goat farmer. )

Approx. 2 teaspoons of honey (to taste, but that’s about how much I use). I used my own honey because my honey is a beekeeper. If you don’t keep your own bees, then once again I implore you – buy local. Support your local beekeeper.

3 drops of rose water. I admit it – I bought mine. I don’t know how to make rose water, but I’ll bet we could learn at YouTube University. Go super easy with this stuff. One drop too much and your filling will taste like hand cream. BLECH.

3 drops of milk. Guess what – I use LOCAL milk from the cows down the street. If you have any local dairies where you live, please support your local dairy farmers.

 

Put your goat cheese in a bowl and start mashing. Add the milk and mash away – you want a spreadable, creamy texture. Add the honey next. It will help with the mashing. I went for not-super-sweet but you could add more and have a really pronounced honey flavor. Your choice. Add the rose water drop by drop and mix well. Too much is really nasty, trust me.

 

Rinse and hull your strawberries. You have enough filling for several quarts, but the filling is really good spread on toast or crackers so don’t worry if you don’t have that many strawberries. And don’t worry – no matter how many you fill, they will all disappear.

I served the filling and berries separately with a little spatula/knife with the cheese and a bowl of strawberries sitting next to it. The looks of joy and wonder on my guests’ faces as they tried this was really fun.

This entry was posted in Catskilliana, food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

