Hawk

I’m jealous of my dog.

Sure, sure: what a great life he has, now that he is rescued and not starving, freezing, running the streets and dumpster diving for a living. But that’s not what I mean. Yes, he has a great life, as do most dogs I know. He has a pack of miscreant nudniks to play with and ample food and a soft bed, but that’s not why I’m jealous of him. I have all that too.

P1050945

He is in his prime and he is a formidable beast of a dog. His muscles ripple. His coat gleams. He moves with a powerful grace and suppleness that makes me swoon. No, I don’t want him in a lustful way, and no, I don’t want to be with a human male who has those qualities. Ok, well, maybe I do. I haven’t really given it much thought. But I want those qualities for myself.

 

I am jealous of my dog because I want to be him. I want to be that strong, that vibrantly and intensely alive, that healthy and powerful. I want to move with that ease. I want nothing to stand in my way of getting what I want. I want to be able to leap up trees, scale cliffs, fly through the air, break doors down, pull my truck with my teeth… (don’t call the humane society; I’ve never asked him to do that but now that I’m thinking about it, I bet he could). He is more alive than I think I have ever been.

IMG_5874

Any living creature at the height of their prowess is breathtakingly beautiful. All athletes at the top of their game are intimidating adversaries and mighty Caseys at the bat. My Hawkitt is animal grace and power all wrapped up in a soft striped coat and a gentle demeanor. He is a lover, not a fighter. But that’s a choice he makes. If he were sharp, skittish, nippy… I’d be dead meat. He is a gentle, kind, loving presence in our family in a physical package that is completely intimidating.

P1000739

I often think of my dogs and I as a team, working together to accomplish goals (like making it home unquilled). But we are not equals. I am not what he is. He respects me and accepts my leadership, using his body as a force for good, not evil, in our home. He is proof that power does not always corrupt.

 

I am jealous of my dog. And my heart sings each and every time I look at him.

P1050051

This entry was posted in the woof pack and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hawk

  1. Debbie Keith says:

    Absolutely beautiful. The dog and the words.

  2. Jim Kukula says:

    Well you are a key facet of what makes your dogs who they are! You and your dogs are really aspects of the team you are together, with the mountains and the trees and the streams and the squirrels and the bears, radiating life and beauty….

  3. halia466 says:

    Thank you for your comments, Debbie and Jim. I know you “grok” what I”m talking about. My life here on this mountain with my gang is ever changing, but in this moment, this snapshot of Hawk felt so important to mark. Thank you for sharing it with me.

Leave a Reply

